Attack of the Insomniacs!

Posted: March 27, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , ,

I am more than certain that everybody has done it: stayed up all night without batting his or her eyelashes once. Pulled an all-nighter while working hard, or hardly working, because they were simply tossing and turning in bed and then the sun was peering through their window. The past few weeks I have been lucky enough to collaborate with two of my current classmates, Ryan Dalpiaz and Cassie Teevan, and together we conquered our goal.  It was our job to produce a radio show for our “New Media Literacy and ELA” class, better known as ENG 307. Music Energy (+clipping path, XXL)At first glance I was mortified by the uniqueness and depth of this task, especially since it involved working with two of my classmates whom I knew little about. Before my eyes, in a matter of minutes, my attitude shifted. Working with my ‘co-hosts’ was not only a beneficial experience, but it was an all around good time. After our first meeting, where we got together to discuss the theme and structure of our show, and assigned a workflow for the upcoming meetings, I was eager to get started, since I had an alarmingly upbeat reaction to what the future held for the three of us.

Our first obstacle hit rather quickly, since none of us had previously worked on a podcast, or used the audio program, Garageband that we were expected to work so closely with. After watching a thirty minute tutorial that demonstrated the majestic features of Garageband, we directed our attention to our audience. We garageband_freebiesearched near and far to find a topic that would interest us, and be easy to relate to for all of you!  We brainstormed for about fifteen minutes, sharing ideas and bouncing potential topics off of each other.

Some time during this process, the light bulb turned on, and this one carried some intricate enlightenment. We highlighted our own lives, and realized that together we had more than enough experience to masterfully create a twenty minute radio show. We yearned to share some terrifying experiences with late night homework assignments, and took on the stereotypical role of a relaxed student, in comparison to a rather stressed out perfectionist. This topic waslightbulb sincere to us, and allowed each one of us to speak from our own experiences. Regardless of whether we spoke from first hand experience, where we faced up against the clock, and spent all night completing an assignment, heard a story about how a friend handled a situation similar to this, or just took part in a restless night, we knew this would transform into a comedic yet worthwhile show if we simply spoke to this. We decided to artistically craft some homemade radio personalities to fill these roles, and once we did this we wanted to ensure the flow was similar to a radio show. We turned these personalities into ‘callers’ who wanted to share their stories on the air, as they participated  in our rather unique “My Favorite Caller” challenge, that was taking place right on our show!

This competition allowed us to incorporate a plethora of voices, which kept things interesting, as well as a wide range of creative commercials depending on what each caller seemed to need. For example a stressed out caller, who was up all night doing homework encouraged us to include a commercial on “Rejuvenating Shampoo”. Our show was dedicated to those who were up all night, for any reason. We wanted to let viewers know they were not alone, and provide a safe haven for our fellow insomniacs. Our show turned out great, and we were able to mix and match our narration with some really attractive music. SomeRadioShow_N sections of this project were quite gruesome, especially becoming accustomed to the technological aspects, but once we managed to work out the kinks we thrived vastly. The skills learned in the process will remain with me, and I am sure that they will be incredibly useful. I had a tremendous amount of unanticipated fun, and collaborating with two remarkable people made the whole process rather exhilarating. I am proud of our final production, and encourage everyone to check out “What The FM I Still Doing Up Radio!?”

Comments
  1. jenpetrosino says:

    Kimmy,

    I think I had much of the same experience with the radio show. At first I was nervous, then after meeting, I was excited and eager to get started. Getting started I had to acquaint myself with the program Garageband, and just when I thought it was going well we hit a major road bump, much like you guys did! After fixing the problem and finally putting together the show, even though things were far from perfect, my group mates and I were extremely proud, much like you and your group seem to be, as well. After reading about both your experience and Ryan’s, I can only expect that this will be a common experience that echoes throughout the rest of our classmates.

    I can totally empathize with your experience of loosing half your radio show, although we only lost two minutes or so, and we were actually able to find the rest. Thank God, because I too, much like you, Kim, would have had a ‘white girl freak out.’ I loved the idea of your show; I think it gave you quite a bit to work with. From talking about Waterworks, the Memorial Library, and the gas station, you definitely did bring the SUNY Cortland experiences of getting homework done home! I also enjoyed hearing you all host as well as taking on “the different personalities of college students.”

    I think the music that you all used was a hit, too. It related to the theme and was timeless and relevant. Your commercials were also professional and seemed as if you had been creating commercials for a very long time! I personally really enjoyed the gym commercial, specifically.

    I especially enjoyed the bit with the caller Kelly, aka you, Kimmy, calling in and having a panic attack at the library. Her experiences staying up late, reading four chapters, submitting assignments by midnight, and writing objectives, seems like an experience I know all too well! I’ve also been the one to talk you off from the ledge at all hours of the morning, and you’ve been there for me, too, so it was nice to see our personalities and experiences reflected yet again in the show! I think it was only appropriate that white girl freak out won the favorite caller challenge.

    Thank you for sharing both your show and your experiences. I thoroughly enjoyed it, and I hope everyone appreciates it as much as I do!

  2. I really like your intro to your radio show! You had great enthusiasm. I also thought that your theme was pretty cool as well your radio show name (really clever). You guys had a great flow going where it sounded like you guys were just bouncing off ideas from each other which made it seem natural. Also, great song choices. It definitely fits to your audience and to the theme of your show. It seemed well planned and natural at the same time. I understand where you are coming from with frustration from garage band, we had the same feeling!

  3. First off, I love the title of your radio show. It’s hysterical and really catchy. You guys seemed like you had a lot of fun doing this. I loved the theme of this show as well; insomnia is something every college kid can relate to. You had great commercials and bumpers, I felt like I was listening to legit radio show and not just a class project. Really great job!

  4. I loved the concept of your radio show. It was really amusing, and the name was very creative. I liked the laugh track you added in after Ryan’s jokes. I also liked how all the songs and topics you talked about where all centered around the general concept of sleeping or lack there of. The commercials were really amusing. They were also very relevant to the college listener. It was creative having callers and helping them with their problems and using music to comment on what the caller said. This is actually a radio show that I would seriously listen to. All the songs you played are songs that I enjoy. I kind of wish that this was a real radio show. It would do very well with the college crowd, and it is well composed. Your sound effects help add to the conversation and aren’t overused. I also liked how you added in a twitter handle like a real radio show. Overall, this was very believable and really fun to listen to.

  5. I really enjoyed listening to your radio show. I loved that you choose topics that were very easy to relate to as a college student which made the show that much more interesting. The usage of music that you incorporated into the show helped to make it more relate able. I really enjoyed the music choice also since they were great songs that any crowd would enjoy listening to. I feel that you guys really thought out what you wanted to talk about and who your audience was going to be due to the information that you were talking about. You guys did a great job! The show was very enjoyable to listen to.

  6. coryjgomez says:

    I can honestly say I thoroughly enjoyed this radio show! First off, the title of the show itself is super clever, I just love it. Ryan’s obnoxiously corny jokes actually made me chuckle. The pacing of the show was great too as a collective whole, I never found myself bored while listening due to the inclusion of sound effects and constant changing of host and songs. You guys really did a good job keeping the listener engaged. Most importantly, what I think your group did an excellent job on was remaining topical. The show had a consistent theme that was supported not only through the dialogue of the hosts, but the commercials and even the songs! Super impressed guys, outstanding product.

  7. Aaron Finnessey says:

    Oh my gosh, Ryan’s deadpan jokes were hilarious. Somehow, he took the corniest, oldest jokes were all heard before and made them funny again. I couldn’t stop myself from laughing right out loud.

    Not to mention, all your commercials were phenomenal. “Red-Eye Coffee.” Too much.

    And Kim sounds just like her usual self as “Kelly,” from the “Cortland Psych Ward.”

    Great show, guys!

  8. ellagonzalez says:

    This was hilarious; great work guys. Somewhere between the catchy title, the super dorky jokes, and Dr. Sarah SarverBrown’s call-in, I became hooked. I understand the difficulties you all may have faced with the recording and editing process, but it did not show in your radio show at all. It really seemed like you knew what you were doing and worked well together. The banter between all of you made it fun and easy to listen to, along with the great sound effects. Your group incorporated some great songs that all linked to the topic nicely. However, I think the winning part of your late night radio may be your commercials. Very creative!

  9. Kim,

    I loved this radio show way too much. As I said in the comment I left on Ryan’s page, I was literally laughing out loud in the library. When you said that you go down to Water Works and feed the ducks a loaf of Italian bread I actually lost it. And did so again during the physical trainer commercial.

    You do a really great job with your sound, everything flows so smoothly and is crystal clear and hilarious. Loved literally every second. I’m really happy that everything turned out so well for your group after all of the technical difficulties and re-recordings (I could hear you guys screaming from the media room next door…)

    I obviously relate to your entire show. I love the part where you mention how you need to write objectives for a class you haven’t been to in three weeks 😉

    I also like how you threw Kelly in there. Brings me right back to the end of last semester…I think there’s a little bit of Kelly in all of us.

    Your rhyming in the beginning was great, and all of the songs used were so clever. I loved every second of your show! Great job with the editing.

  10. homepage says:

    You can definitely see your expertise in the article you write.
    The world hopes for more passionate writers such as you who aren’t afraid to mention how they believe. At all times follow your heart.

  11. Please let me know if you’re looking for a article writer for your blog.
    You have some really great posts and I think I would be a good asset.
    If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d absolutely love to write some content for your blog in exchange for a link back to mine.
    Please blast me an e-mail if interested. Many thanks!

  12. savavieta.lv says:

    Thanks , I’ve recently been looking for information approximately this subject for a while and yours is
    the best I’ve came upon till now. But, what concerning the
    conclusion? Are you sure in regards to the source?

  13. social news says:

    Hmm it looks like your website ate my first comment (it was extremely long) so
    I guess I’ll just sum it up what I submitted and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog.
    I as well am an aspiring blog writer but I’m still new to everything.
    Do you have any recommendations for first-time blog writers?
    I’d genuinely appreciate it.

  14. ass says:

    I’d like to thank you for the efforts you have put in
    writing this website. I really hope to check out the same high-grade content from you
    in the future as well. In fact, your creative writing abilities has inspired me to get my own, personal blog now 😉

  15. What’s up, just wanted to say, I liked this blog post.
    It was funny. Keep on posting!

  16. Howdy! Do you know if they make any plugins to help with SEO?
    I’m trying to get my blog to rank for some targeted keywords but I’m not seeing very good success.
    If you know of any please share. Many thanks!

  17. I like the valuable information you provide for your articles.
    I will bookmark your weblog and test once more here frequently.
    I’m relatively certain I’ll be informed many new stuff right right here!
    Best of luck for the following!

  18. Please let me know if you’re looking for a article writer for your site.
    You have some really good articles and I feel I would be a good
    asset. If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d absolutely love to write some content for your blog in exchange for a link back to mine.
    Please shoot me an e-mail if interested. Cheers!

  19. Jerry says:

    Very nice blog post. I absolutely love this website. Continue the
    good work!

  20. mobile game says:

    Oh my goodness! Awesome article dude! Many thanks, However I am having issues with your RSS.
    I don’t understand the reason why I am unable to
    subscribe to it. Is there anyone else getting similar RSS problems?
    Anybody who knows the answer can you kindly respond?

    Thanx!!

  21. My family all the time say that I am wasting my time here
    at web, however I know I am getting knowledge daily by reading
    such good posts.

  22. Good info. Lucky me I came across your blog by chance (stumbleupon).
    I’ve saved it for later!

  23. It’s hard to come by educated people about this topic, but you seem
    like you know what you’re talking about! Thanks

  24. Hurrah, that’s what I was searching for, what a information! existing here at this webpage, thanks admin of this web page.

Leave a Reply

